Letters, To and From, Strangers

 

I have been writing a lot of letters lately, so I thought it would be nice to help strangers write letters, because I suspect that many strangers have forgotten all about letters. So I took my typewriter, and my friend Cabbage – who also owns a typewriter – and we went out onto the street corner with our duel typewriters and we laid them out on a mexican blanket. We painted a piece of cardboard with blue paint and our fingers. It said: LETTER WRITING STATION (Love? Letters?!).  Then we sat and typed, with our blue fingers, the words that strangers wanted to tell someone else.

I wrote a love letter to ‘The most beautiful woman in the world” from a man who was so lonely that he cried onto my mexican blanket.

Cabbage wrote a letter for a boy who had lost all his things, so he wrote to his mother to tell her that they were lost, but he was not lost.

And then a boy with glasses used my typewriter to write a thank-you note, which he said was too poetic and strange to dictate, so he might as well type it himself.

 

~ by warpaintandwandering on February 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “Letters, To and From, Strangers”

  1. This is the best blog I’ve ever read. I’ve just spent the past half an hour looking at your posts before deciding to share them with all my friends on twitter. I’ve often wondered what it would feel like to be completely free and I’ve decided that this must be it. Thank you for being so insightful towards the world

Leave a Reply

