Lost people go to the desert –

meinthedesert

I crave landscapes the way people crave chocolate or spicy foods. Perhaps that is why I wander so much…

Somedays I want the dark forest and the moss, or city lights at night, or snowscapes in the moonlight, the places that are so quiet that even your footsteps get eaten by the silence. But I am mostly always wanting the desert. It’s got this big emptiness that is secretly full. The feeling of “forever”.  The ravens and the coyotes, the sagebrush and the tumbleweed. I blend in when I’m in the desert – in other lands I feel like a loud visitor.

Lost people go to the desert I think. Or sometimes they go to the sea – for that is another kind of desert.

~ by warpaintandwandering on December 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

