My Dear, Act of God

When I was small,

There was a great storm,

A whole tree fell on to my neighbor’s house.

Her insurance company called this

“An Act of God”

Something for which there is no insurance,

There is no protection, no payback,

Only shambles

In its wake.

~

I thought one day

Back when you were still new

And shining

And foreboding

And soft

That I would like to give you

A nicname

But the only thing that came to mind

Was that memory

Of a house crumbling

Beneath a heavy weight.

~ by warpaintandwandering on May 27, 2015.

Leave a Reply

